Header Image


The First Peoples' Cultural Council Board is comprised of up to 13 members, including:
  • Up to 9 voting members appointed by the Minister on the recommendation of the FPCC Board
  • 2 voting members appointed by the Minister
  • 1 non-voting member appointed by the Minister to provide the government’s perspective to the Board
  • 1 non-voting member appointed by the Minister on the recommendation of the FPCC Board for the purpose of providing additional cultural perspective

These members are appointed to two-year terms by the Ministry of Indigenous Relations and Reconciliation. 

Role of the Board of Directors

The mandate of the Board is to govern the operations of the organization by setting direction and policy, providing leadership to the FPCC and advocating on behalf of members.

Current Board of Directors:
Konrad Thiele (Treasurer)
Ma̓la̓gius (Gerry Lawson)
Carla Lewis
Shulqwilum (Ray Harris)
Grant Alphonse
Laurel Nash (government seat)

Board Operations

  • FPCC convenes quarterly Board meetings, supplemented by conference calls as needed.
  • Committees of the Board hold regular meetings by conference call.
  • Standing committees meet independently and report details back to the Board, with minutes sent to the Board for review.
  • At the AGM each October, the Board reports to the Advisory Committee and hosts workshops with Advisory Committee members in order to receive feedback and suggestions for improvements on specific policies and programs. This information guides the Board and FPCC in setting organizational goals and strategies.

Board Activities And Responsibilities

  • Conducts strategic planning, including the annual service plan
  • Undertakes budgetary planning and accepts these budgets by formal resolution
  • Modifies and/or adopts plans to meet the routine demands of FPCC
  • Assesses and evaluates performance of FPCC through the annual report
  • Retains and manages the relationship with the Chief Executive Officer
  • Records faithfully for the corporate record any minutes of their meetings
  • Reports to the Advisory Committee at the AGM

Key Accountabilities

FPCC’s Board of Directors is accountable to the Minister of Indigenous Relations and Reconciliation through the organization’s annual service plan, annual report and through reporting on its transfer under agreement.

The organization is also accountable to B.C. First Nations and its other funders, including the New Relationship Trust, the Department of Canadian Heritage, the BC Arts Council and Margaret A. Cargill Philanthropies.

Board Committees

Governance Committee: Jaskwaan Bedard (Committee Chair), Carla Lewis, Laurel Nash

Finance Committee: Konrad Thiele (Committee Chair), Cynthia Jensen Fisk

HR Committee: Dr. Trish Rosborough (Committee Chair), Lou-ann Neel, Gerry Lawson

Bookmark and Share